When I grow up, I want to be…

When I was young I had 2 professional aspirations: to be the first female press secretary. And to be a psychologist. I even have a psychologist office all planned out. I always wanted to be a writer of some sort–and ha, I am. Just not the super creative type. I spent a good amount of my 20s trying to get paid for writing before going to graduate school and trying to alter my path. But, I still ended up doing grant writing. And then I veered off. Now, I’m back. Although I think I’ll be doing less writing in this grant job than the last one.

Being a psychologist. I love hearing people’s stories and sharing my perspective. And there are a lot of people that appreciate my perspective. I am pretty honest/blunt though. I say it like it is. Which is a little hard sometimes. I am glad, though, that I didn’t become a psychologist. Sometimes separating sadness or pain that I hear about is hard. I’m a little too sensitive and empathic. I’ve developed a tougher skin though.

I think that a job with some writing and some research is good. Eventually, I want a job with some writing, some research, and some innovating. That would be the sweet spot.

Leave a Reply

